

Committee On Training

General Assembly Building – House Room C 201 North 9th Street Richmond, VA 23219

DRAFT MINUTES — DRAFT MINUTES — DRAFT MINUTES September 18, 2014

Members Present

Chief Jeffrey Brown Mr. Peter Danles Mr. Patrick Bridge Captain Matthew Hanley Mr. Edward Macon Chief Kelvin Wright Chief James Williams Sheriff Charles Jett Sheriff Vanessa Crawford Lt. Scott Sheild Williams Colonel Bobby Russell Mr. Charles Ciccotti Mr. Gilbert Smith

Members Absent

Mr. Michael Doucette Ms. Michelle Mosby

1. Call to Order. Sheriff Jett called the meeting to order at 10:32 a.m.

2. Election of Chairperson

Sheriff Jett called for nominations of a Chairman. Mr. Ciccotti nominated Chief Brown. Lieutenant Williams seconded the motion. After a brief discussion, the motion passed unanimously.

3. Approval of past minutes.

Sheriff Jett moved to accept the minutes from the meeting on June 12, 2014. Colonel Russell seconded the motion. With no objections, the minutes were unanimously approved.

4. Certified Crime Prevention Community Certifications

The Committee was provided detailed read ahead documents concerning Certified Crime Prevention Community Certifications.

The department recommended the recertification of County of Fairfax without conditions. Sheriff Jett moved to approve the recertification. Chief Williams seconded. The motion passed unanimously.

The department recommended the recertification of the County of Newport News without conditions. Sheriff Crawford moved to approve the recertification. Chief Wright seconded. Lieutenant Williams abstained from the vote. The motion passed unanimously.

The department recommended the certification of the Town of Smithfield without conditions. Mr. Ciccotti moved to approve the certification. Lieutenant Williams seconded. The motion passed unanimously.

The department recommended the County of Greene receive an extension to April of 2015. Chief Williams made the motion to approve the extension. Colonel Russell seconded. The motion passed unanimously.

- 5. Suggestions for new members of the Law Enforcement Curriculum Review Committee. The terms of some of the Law Enforcement Curriculum Review Committee members have expired. The department recommended:
 - Jon Cliborne, Director of Crater Criminal Justice Training Academy
 - Mike Harvey, Director of Rappahannock Regional Criminal Justice Academy
 - Martin Alford, Director of New River Criminal Justice Training Academy
 - John Landfair, Director of Chesapeake Police Academy
 - Lieutenant Jill Daszkowski, Director of Newport News Police Training Academy
 - Lieutenant Richard Brown, Director of Henrico County Police Training Academy.

Lieutenant Williams recused from Newport News Police Training Academy. Sheriff Jett recused from Rappahannock Regional Criminal Justice Academy. Sheriff Crawford recused from Crater Criminal Justice Training Academy. Chief Wright recused from Chesapeake Police Academy.

Chief Williams moved to accept the recommendations as presented. Mr. Smith seconded the motion. The motion passed unanimously.

6. Suggested revisions for 6VAC20-80-20, Rules Relating to Certification of Criminal Justice Instructors

The department requested approval to amend the regulations relating to the certification of criminal justice instructors to replace the term "radar" with "speed measurement" to include both lidar and radar operations. The department intends to submit these changes through the Fast Track option of the Administrative Process Act.

Colonel Russell moved to accept the revisions. Mr. Smith seconded the motion. The motion passed unanimously.

7. Election of Vice Chairperson.

Chief Brown called for nominations of a Vice Chairperson. Sheriff Jett nominated Colonel Russell. Mr. Ciccotti seconded the motion. After a brief discussion, the motion passed unanimously.

8. Summary of Public Comment.

There were no comments made during the public comment period.

9. Next Meeting.

The next meeting of the Committee on Training will be Thursday, December 11, 2014 at 9:00 a.m.

10. Adjournment.

Mr. Ciccotti made a motion to adjourn the meeting. Lt. Williams seconded the motion. The motion passed unanimously.

The meeting adjourned at 10:56 a.m.